Roasted Mushrooms and Broccoli

I think it’s pretty safe to say that everyone, even the least accomplished or adventurous of cooks, has a basic, go-to recipe. Whether that’s a simple stir fry or easy marinade or Easy Mac with random cheese thrown in or just toast and Nutella, you’ve probably got at least one random dish you can make by heart. And one of the great things about cooking with other people is you find out their random recipes that are so simple and obvious but that you never would have thought of yourself.

Take last night. I was cooking with my friend, Kayla, and I had a bunch of vegetables in my fridge but no clue what to do with them. So I figured I’d do what I always do in this situation: throw ’em in a pan and stir fry.

And then Kayla recommended roasting the broccoli and mushrooms, and eating them with a veggie burger. 

I’d never roasted vegetables before. Turns out, it’s pretty much the easiest thing ever. Do you have vegetables? Olive oil? Salt? An oven? Not a lot of time? Then you’re pretty much set.

Chop your veggies and lay them on parchment paper-lined baking sheets (the parchment paper makes clean-up easier). Brush with olive oil. Sprinkle with salt. Bake at 375 degrees for 10 minutes.

The broccoli came out crispy, the mushrooms were juicy, and the veggie burger was pretty good, too. And! Broccoli stems! You can eat them! Who knew? They’re actually really sweet — it’s the floret that makes broccoli taste bitter.

Hmm. Another side dish post. Maybe next time I’ll actually blog about an actual meal?Lies… I know what I’m writing about for my next post and it’s not really a meal. Oh well. Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

