Kale Walnut Pesto

Finally! After my first attempts received lukewarm feedback, I have finally found a way to use up the rest of the kale in our fridge (yup, that same giant bag is still around). This kale pesto recipe from Always Order Dessert was perfect; the cheese and olive oil of the pesto actually compliment the bitter taste of kale instead of hiding it. And the recipe takes literally five minutes to prepare — you just throw your ingredients into a food processor and you’re done! I’m planning on having this with swiss cheese on a mushroom burger for lunch, and maybe serving it with some tomatoes and cheese as a side dish for tonight’s dinner.

My one recommendation for this recipe is to follow the directions. I usually eyeball measurements when I’m cooking, but for this recipe proportions count. Except for the cheese. You should always add extra cheese.

The ingredients:
A quick note: pesto is traditionally made with pine nuts, but you can substitute walnuts or almonds instead. I only had walnuts to work with, but I actually really like the way this pesto tastes with them.

So first, combine 2 teaspoons salt, 3 cloves garlic, 1/2 cup nuts, and 1/4 cup grated parmesan in a food processor. Pulse until coarsely ground.

Next, add 2 lbs kale leaves, 1/2 cup olive oil, pepper, and lemon juice to the mixture. Pulse until it looks like pesto.
And that’s it! You can mix it with rice or pasta, spread it on a sandwich or burger, serve it on top of fish or chicken, or, as Alejandra of Always Order Dessert suggests, you can freeze it and reheat it whenever inspiration (or hunger) strikes.

However, as I was putting the pesto in the fridge, I realized that to the uninformed, it probably just looks like pond scum in a tupperware container.

In these types of situations, I find that labeling is always helpful.

 So long, kale. You will not be missed, until I run out of this delicious pesto.
Leave a Reply

