CAKEGASM

(not my picture)

Hold the phone, stop what you’re doing, this is important. I’ve found the Holy Grail of chocolate cakes. This cake is definitively the. Best. Chocolate. Cake. In. The. World.

I have the utmost respect for chocolate cakes and I’ve had years of experience baking and eating them. I’ve had restaurant tortes, homemade birthday cakes, box cakes, lava cakes, ice cream cakes, and devious impostors, but this is it. I wouldn’t mislead you. This is the most chocolatey, flavorful, moist, memorable, spongey, blissful, delicious chocolate cake I’ve tasted in my entire 20 years.

And it comes… from a pie shop.

I apologize in advance for my extreme Cathy moment, but this cake deserves the effusive praise to come. I became acquainted with The Little Pie Company’s Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake this afternoon, when a coworker brought in half the cake and left it for the office to devour. I diligently waited until after lunch to try a piece; by then, the cake had dwindled down to a sliver.

My brain short-circuited after the first bite. By the time I finished the slice, I was hooked. The other interns and I (well, to be honest, it was probably mostly me) sat in our little intern bullpen, exclaiming over the utter superiority of this cake. I went back for seconds. At this point, we had no idea who had brought this miracle cake in, or where it had come from. I was almost positive it had fallen from the sky. It seemed the only likely explanation. I spent the afternoon composing increasingly ridiculous rhapsodies to leave on the unmarked white bakery box.

“To whomever brought the most glorious chocolate cake: REVEAL YOURSELF! So that I may worship you and demand of you the name of this most sacred bakery, as a confection of such perfection could only have been delivered from the exquisite ovens of heaven. May God bless and keep this cake forever and always. Amen.”

Or, as another intern put it, “When I find out the name of this bakery I want to buy an entire cake, take it home, and use my hands.”

Another intern said it reminded her of the cake from Matilda.

As I picked each tiny crumb off my plate, I fell deeper and deeper in love. Closer inspection of the box revealed a white sticker camouflaged on the lid, thereby solving the mystery of the cake’s origins. One of the Little Pie Company’s outposts is a tantalizingly short walk from my office.

But I know I’ll inevitably make the pilgrimage to this bakery for more of their chocolate cake. Every time a close friend or family member has a birthday, I know exactly where I’m buying their cake. Every time I show an out-of-towner around the Village, I’ll skip the slabs-of-butter-masquerading-as-cupcakes at Magnolia’s and take them for perfectly proportioned chocolate cake. I’ll eventually sample the little personal pies for which the bakery is named, but I’ll always return for the Old-Fashioned Chocolate Cake. And maybe, one day, I’ll learn how to bake it.

For those interested, the Little Pie Company can be found at:

243 Grand Central Terminal. (212) 983-3538. 4/5/6/7 to Grand Central – 42nd St.

424 West 43rd Street (btwn 9th and 10th Ave). (212) 736-4780. Mon-Fri 8am-8pm, Sat 10am-8pm, Sun 10am-6pm. A/C/E to Port Authority – 42nd St. 

185 Greenwich St. (212) 748-5290.  Mon-Fri 8am-8pm, Sat 10am-8pm, Sun 10am-6pm. 1/N/R to Cortlandt St, 4/5 to Fulton St.

You can also order from a selection of their pies online, but shipping is ridiculously expensive.

Menu

Leave a Reply

