Brewer’s Blondies

“Blondies? Why not brownies?” That has typically been my response when this dessert appears, after dinner has been polished off and I’m left expecting some permutation of chocolate. But guys — these have malted milk balls in them. Doesn’t that intrigue you?

I made these blondies for a July Fourth cookout I had this weekend, and I have to say, even when I was making these I felt some trepidation. I considered adding Nutella to the batter to add a little more oomph, which in the end was totally unnecessary. I don’t know if it’s the saltiness of the batter, the chewy thickness of the finished product, the use of brown sugar with no white sugar to balance it out, or just the addition of the malted milk balls, but these blondies pack a punch. One lick of the batter and I knew I’d be in trouble as soon as the oven beeped.

The recipe calls for malted milk powder, which I could not find at the supermarket and therefore did not use. The blondies came out amazing, anyway, but I can only assume they would come out even more amazing with it. So really, it’s up to you.

The ingredients:

(ignore the granulated sugar in the corner)

-2 1/3 cup flour

-1 1/2 tsp baking powder

-1 tsp salt

-2 tbsp malted milk powder (did not use this)

-14 tbsp (roughly a stick and a half) butter

-1 3/4 cup dark brown sugar (I used light brown. It’s ok)

-2 eggs

-2 tsp vanilla extract

-3/4 cup malted milk balls

-3/4 cup semisweet chocolate, cut into chunks

-3/4 cup walnuts, chopped

First chop all ingredients that need to be chopped. Butter. Chocolate. Malted milk balls.

In a medium-sized bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, salt, and malted milk powder.

In a mixer, combine brown sugar and butter.

Mix in eggs and vanilla.

Gradually add in flour mixture. Your dough should feel thick and heavy. Using a rubber spatula, fold in chocolate, walnuts, and malted milk balls.

Mmmmm.

Resist the urge to freeze dough and eat as a snack. Instead, spread it into a greased 9×9 square pan.

Bake at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

Now here comes the hard part. You have to wait 20 minutes for the blondies to cool before you cut them. No, really. Otherwise they will crumble and fall apart. Which is fine, but it’s also pretty rewarding to have perfect little blondie squares.

Still to come from the barbecue: a patriotic and easy to make berry tart, a spicy barbecue rub for chicken or corn, a surprisingly sweet salad, and of course, hamburgers. I’m also thinking of making a post about my favorite things to listen to when I’m in the kitchen (because it really does vary, depending on if I’m throwing together dinner during the week, grilling on a Sunday afternoon, or on a late-night baking spree), so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

