The Perfect Recipe for College Care Packages (and Life): Oatmeal Pecan Chocolate Chip Cookies

My brother leaves for college today. Which actually doesn’t seem that weird anymore — I mean, the whole family’s been preparing for his departure for a year now. But I wasn’t about to let the occasion pass without commemorating it somehow, and since I never got him a graduation present I instead made him a college survival kit. I spent all summer accumulating various items, both useful and silly, and the final thing on my list was to bake cookies.

And then the hurricane happened. We’ve been without power for three days now, but I wasn’t about to let a little rain and wind and downed power lines get in the way of making my brother a care package. Thankfully I had a friend who did not lose power who let me use her kitchen to bake. Thanks, Adena!

I’m also excited to report that after a long search, I’ve finally found my perfect, go-to cookie recipe, which for me is almost as awesome as sending my li’l bro off to college. Oatmeal pecan chocolate chip cookies. Can you imagine anything more scrumptious? If you can, please let me know. I will bake it immediately.

My only problem with the recipe was the yield. 2 1/2 dozen? Not if you’re making cookies the size of your face (which I did). I tried to take pictures to show exactly how ginormous these cookies are, but to get an idea I could only fit six of them per cookie sheet. And (you guessed it) they’re easy to make. So easy that I can pretty much recite the recipe from memory.

 Ingredients:

-1 cup butter (2 sticks)

-1 cup granulated sugar

-1 cup light brown sugar

-2 eggs

-1 1/2 tbsp vanilla extract

-2 cups flour

-2 1/2 cups old fashioned oats

-1 tsp baking soda

-1 tsp baking powder

-1 tbsp nutmeg

-1 tbsp cinnamon

-1 bag Ghiradelli bittersweet chocolate discs

-1 bag shelled pecans

Optional:

Pam baking spray (makes your kitchen smell like freshly baked cookies before you even turn on the oven).

Note: Yes, I used a full bag of chocolate chips and pecans. It was kind of hard to make the cookies stick together because of the high ratio of batter to chocolate and nuts, but using entire bags resulted in cookies loaded with chocolatey, crunchy goodness.

1. Spray cookie sheets with Pam baking spray and preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. In a large mixing bowl, cream butter and sugars. Add in eggs one at a time, mixing well after each. Mix in vanilla.

3. In a separate bowl, whisk together oats, flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Slowly mix the dry mixture into the wet mixture.

 3. Fold in chocolate chips and pecans.

4. Bake until cookies are a light golden brown, about 15 minutes for normal-sized cookies or 25 minutes for giant cookies.

 6. If you’re making these for your brother or for someone else, let cool completely. If not, dig in immediately because these taste insanely good fresh out of the oven.

And (because of course I had to document it) this is the rest of the care package:

 

Something I picked up from publishing: SASEs (Self-adressed stamped envelopes)

 

And finally:

(I mean, he is going to Wesleyan)

Alex, if you’re reading this, have an awesome freshman year.

2 thoughts on “The Perfect Recipe for College Care Packages (and Life): Oatmeal Pecan Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

