Roasted Chicken, Shallots, and Acorn Squash with Balsamic Vinegar and Rosemary

I didn’t technically finish classes until Wednesday evening, but really, it’s felt like I’ve been on break since last Thursday. I spent last weekend sleeping, eating, hanging out with friends, and basically just enjoying myself. So Sunday evening I decided to put off my homework just a bit longer and make myself a nice dinner of chicken, acorn squash, and shallots.

Fun fact: when I was a kid, I remember thinking that squash was the one food I would never ever enjoy. I don’t know why, probably just because it looked stinky and orange and had a yucky name. Then again, I also thought that I could live entirely off of pizza, pasta, and Halloween candy (yes, specifically, Halloween candy). How times have changed…

Some things to note: I would not advise using this method for cooking chicken; it cam out flavorful but extremely dry. In order to be kept moist, chicken should be baked in a covered baking dish at 350 degrees (I knew this, but for some reason I thought it would be a good idea to experiment, Wrong. Never “experiment” with poultry cooking times — you won’t like the results). Also, for some strange reason my first few pictures got deleted. Apologies. If you truly need pictorial instructions on how to cut vegetables and put them in a baking dish, I might be able to stage a dramatic reenactment.

Ingredients:

-1 acorn squash

-About 8 shallots

-Olive oil

-Chicken breast

-Salt

-Pepper

-Balsamic vinegar

-Rosemary

1. Slice the acorn squash in half and scoop out the insides.

2. Cut the squash into cubes, remove the skins from the shallots, and place them in a baking dish.

3. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Season chicken with salt and pepper. In a skillet over medium heat, heat oil and sear chicken breast for about 1 minute on each side.

4. Place chicken in baking dish alongside vegetables. Drizzle with olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and rosemary, and toss to cover.

5. Place in preheated oven and bake for 40 minutes, turning chicken after 20 minutes. You might also want to push around the squash and shallots a little bit — the bits that are face-down and closest to the chicken get a nice caramelized glaze from the vinegar and the chicken jus.

6. When squash is softened and chicken is cooked through, remove from oven.

7. Enjoy!

Plus, check out all these leftovers!

Leave a Reply

