New food blogs to follow: Food of Egypt, Buttered Up, and MidEATS

I found Food of Egypt when I was rereading my post about koshary and trying to cross-check the recipe. Though I didn’t have the chance to make it to Egypt when I was abroad, I had the chance to try kofta and of course koshary when I was in Menton, and would love to learn to make more Egyptian food myself. The first thing that caught my eye on Food of Egypt was their recipe for ful — highly praised by every Egyptian I’ve met. That piqued my interest, and I began my hunt for other Egyptian recipes.

Unfortunately, Food of Egypt doesn’t seem to be updated very frequently, so I searched around a bit more and found Buttered Up, which is said to be one of the most popular food blogs from Egypt. However, while all of the recipes on the site look extremely delicious and creative (date-filled croissants or pistachio brownies, anyone?), Buttered Up does not seem to specialize in the more traditional Egyptian food I was looking for (though it’s still there – there are posts on karkadeh, sha’reyya, and lots of updated classics like mehalabia brûlée).

So I kept looking, and finally found MidEATS. Though it’s written by two Egyptian-Americans, MidEATS is not a specifically Egyptian blog – I eyeballed some Lebanese food on their homepage. Still, the blog seems to have all the recipes I was looking for, (and a ton I’d never heard of or thought to make myself) including another take on ful. Hopefully, you’ll be seeing more MidEATS recipes on my own blog soon!

Needless to say, I will probably start following all three of these blogs, even Food of Egypt, and suggest you take a look if you’re interested in Egyptian cuisine.

!بصحتك

2 thoughts on “New food blogs to follow: Food of Egypt, Buttered Up, and MidEATS

  1. Hey! Thanks for the mention. Very nice of you. If you’re ever in need of a specific recipe, let me know and I’ll help out if I can. 🙂

  2. Hi ,

    I’m Rita Moudar , Project manager at Buzzeff Middle East,

    we are a social advertising platform and we are looking for bloggers who can participate to our client campaign by seeding videos or publishing sponsored articles ,

    we pay 0.04 US $ per view and 100$ per article

    please contact me if you are interested and want more details,

    thank you,

    Rita Moudar

Leave a Reply

